Juliet Lubega

Idi Amin. The story that haunts us!

9 Comments

My name is Rose Lwanga. Lwanga sounds like a Zambian name, No,I am Ugandan”

Oh, I see, Uganda, Idi Amin?

xxxx

I was born in the UK but my parents are originally from Uganda. Is that the country of Idi Amin?

xxxx

Are you from Nigeria? No. Where are you from? Kenya. Where is Kenya? Between the Indian Ocean and Uganda

O I know now, Idi Amin?

xxxx

He sent away the Asians to this country. Who? Idi Amin. I heard you say you were from Uganda.

xxxx

I am from Africa. Where about are you from, Nigeria? No. Ghana? No I am from Uganda. Did you meet Idi Amin?

 

And so on and so forth………

 

 

Juliet.Lubega (unpublished 2013)

Author: lubega1

Among other things an aspiring UK based African writer with particular interest in African/Western cultural divide..

9 thoughts on “Idi Amin. The story that haunts us!

  1. Lol! I know what you mean! Such a narrow view of Africa. I am from South Africa, but here in the U.S.A. consistently get introduced as being “from Africa”, as if it is all one amorphous place. Unless you are from Uganda, in which case you get singled out with idi Amin 🙂 thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. I always appreciate comments 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Lea.It is an issue,isnt it? Ugandans abroad have to live with Idi Amin lol
    Thanks for commenting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not only Ugandans in the diaspora, Juliet. Wazungu who talk about Uganda also. And, yes, I did meet him (twice!).

    Like

  4. Thanks a lot for your nice post. It would be excellent if you could write more about the country where your fathers came from.

    It would be an inside perspective, and it could certainly be as sensitive and sensible as this post of yous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading.I have a few posts about Uganda on the blog and I am writing a book too.However because I have lived in the UK for 24 years.It is the conflict between lives in the two countries that fascinates me .My book’s working tittle is ‘Across Borders’ and it goes as far back as childhood growing up in Uganda and the place of my British born children in both cultures. Theyhave also had to answer Idi Amin questions

      Like

  5. Dear Dr Lubega, we’re sorry, but before commenting we haven’t read read neither your book, nor your blog posts. But we’re going to remedy it, for Africa was the origin of the world, and it was the origin of Brazil too.

    We believe, here in Brazil, that Idi Amin was a tragical person. He belongs to the history of mankind, even more than to the history of Uganda, or to Africa.

    In a way, no matter if he had good intentions at first, we believe he was engulfed by the machine that colonialism left in his country.

    Do you think that vision is correct ?

    Thanks for your time and your patience in dealing with misinformed people like us.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well there are so many opinions on Idi Amin both in and out of Uganda.The purpose of my blog and any other work I have written is to establish my personal position in this whole saga and it is non poltical.I was 6 years when he came to power and 14 years when he was deposed.I went to school with some of his children,one in my class.He also visited the school.In London now I am close to one of his wives.In Uganda today Idi Amin is firmly part of history,no one talks about him.Outside Uganda however it is the question-this is the reasoning behind this post.Unless you leave Uganda you can never know what an impact Idi Amin had on world stage be it for the wrong reasons.It even affects the young generation who dont know anything about him.For me it is the social dynamics on me,my family in Uganda in the 1970s and now in the UK as well as Ugandans outside Uganda that is of interest to me not any political issues about him.My book is work in progress,it is not finished.

    Like

Leave a Reply

