Juliet Lubega

My grandfather’s house

Leave a comment

Many miles away yet so near at heart.It is times like this when images like my grandfather’s house make me feel united with my family.I cant be with them to mourn the loss of my brother 3 weeks ago but I feel the unity where it all began-my grandfather’s house!

Juliet Lubega

My grandfather’s house

Still stands in gracious solitude

Holding an air of authority over us

Guarding the secrets of his mind

Reminding us of his love

 

Heavy rains come and go

The winds blow east and west

It stands firm against the odds

Rising above the times of old

Like his firm hand still holds

 

His children watch it with respect

It holds their untold childhood tales

The grand children admire its strength

Great grandchildren run around it

Like the great grandfather they never met

 

Moons ago he said his final goodbyes

To the house he built with pride

He left it to us to decide its fate

As he looks down from the stars above

He smiles down that it still stands

 

I wish I knew how old it is

I wish I knew how it was built

Even in a far away land

In…

View original post 18 more words

Author: lubega1

Among other things an aspiring UK based African writer with particular interest in African/Western cultural divide..

Leave a Reply

