Juliet Lubega

The Promise

Leave a comment

Juliet Lubega

The wind blows, the memories raise
The waves swing right into my heart
My teenage dream begins to shine

I never believed the words he said
A promise which was beyond his years
I left the land without a word

Beyond the seas I started to doubt
Day and night, the years rolled by
I never forgot the promise he made

I often wondered what it will be like
To share the dream close by his side
And close my eyes next to his warmth

Among the palm trees now I stand
The waves swing beyond the skyline
They hit the beach just like his touch
Then I recall the day we met
The giggles of our teenage years

The memories feel fresh like the wind
Now I know that he was right
About the promise he made with love
To stand by me whatever it takes.

©Juliet Lubega (unpublished…

View original post 1 more word

Author: lubega1

Among other things an aspiring UK based African writer with particular interest in African/Western cultural divide..

Leave a Reply

